What does it mean for residents?

The new law means that residents will have increased protection as tenants around four key consumer standards:

  • The Safety and Quality Standard which requires landlords to provide safe and good-quality homes for their tenants, along with good-quality landlord services
  • The Transparency, Influence and Accountability Standard which requires landlords to be open with tenants and treat them with fairness and respect so they can access services, raise concerns when necessary, influence decision making and hold their landlord to account
  • The Neighbourhood and Community Standard which requires landlords to engage with other relevant parties so that tenants can live in safe and well-maintained neighbourhoods, and feel safe in their homes
  • The Tenancy Standard which sets requirements for the fair allocation and letting of homes, as well as requirements for how tenancies are managed by landlords

Each year the Housing Ombudsman will publish an annual report setting out the number and nature of complaints made against every landlord which will be publicly available.  

Google translate Google translate
click to choose
Colour contrast Contrast
Font size Text size